Penguins

DSC_0878

The aim for this assignment was to create a motivational photo which consisted of the image being black and white with one section of the photo of your choice being in colour. I felt this photo I took of a soldiers gun and helmet the strongest and most motivational, as it expresses war, conflict and death.  I enjoy the method that was used in the assignment brief to draw the attention to the rifle was to make the the area surrounding my main object black and white, and leave the colour of the rifle in, which makes the photo unique and captivating.

This photo was taken with an aperture around f16, so the foreground was blurred out, again another technique of drawing all the attention towards the rifle. I had the shutter speed on 1/1000 so that I got a clean RAW quality photo, which shows all of the objects details. I was inspired by war photos which contained a helmet balancing on a gun as it symbolised defeat and generated a depressed feeling towards the fallen soldier.

The objects used was a toy rifle and helmet from a doll of a WWII soldier, as it was easy to get hold of a realistic gun and helmet without it being real and having to get permission and licences which could have taken days to obtain It was also easy to model as I placed these objects in an old piano, as the old worn down wood created the illusion of an 1930 floor.

Assignment: http://assignments.ds106.us/assignments/penguins/

Leave a comment